Curry Rivel Logo Link
 Curry Rivel – Above the Levels
Parish Council working online with the community

New Year's Honours 2024

Back home  /  Latest News  /  New Year's Honours 2024
news blog white keyboard


Somerset Folk

King Charles III announced the New Year's Honours list 2024 which recognised 1,227 people in total. These are Somerset recipients in no particular order except alphabetical ... ...


  • Athelstan Joseph Michael Eavis CBE. Founder and Leader, Glastonbury Festival. For services to Music and to Charity. (Glastonbury, Somerset)
  • Professor John Peter Iredale FMedSci FRSE. Lately Interim Executive Chair, Medical Research Council. For services to Medical Research. (Somerset)


Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

  • Rowland George Butler. For services to the community in Chard, Somerset. (Chard, Somerset)
  • Robert John Collins. Founder, Pass It On Young Sports Voluntary Youth Organisation. For services to Young People and to Sport. (Wraxall, Somerset)
  • Stephen Michael Harrison. For services to the Church and to the community in South Petherton, Somerset. (South Petherton, Somerset)
  • Jane Loveys. Director, Campus Services, University of Bath. For services to Higher Education. (Bath, Somerset)
  • Harry Charles Lawrence Meade. For services to the community in Goathurst, Somerset. (Bridgwater, Somerset)
  • Kathleen Mary Prideaux. For services to the community in Allerford, Somerset. (Minehead, Somerset)

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

  • Anthony John Bloxham. Member, National Teaching School Council and Lead, South-West National Teaching School Council Representative. For services to Education. (Taunton, Somerset)
  • Jennifer Sheridan Bryer. Teacher, Pony Club. For services to Horse Riding. (Yeovil, Somerset)
  • Richard John Linley. Lately Senior Inspector of Courses, British Horseracing Authority. For services to Horse Racing. (Somerton, Somerset)
  • Alison Melanie Savage. Officer Commanding, The Services Cotswold Centre. For services to Military Families. (Bath, Somerset)
  • Keith Norman Walton. Founder, Severnside Community Rail Partnership. For services to Urban Rail Transport in Bristol. (Nailsea, Somerset)

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

  • Nigel Christopher Ashton. Councillor, North Somerset Council. For Political and Public Service. (Portishead, Somerset)
  • Samantha Kate Mayhew. Assistant Principal, Special Educational Needs and Disabilities, Weston College. For services to Further Education. (Nailsea, Somerset)
  • Marcus Edward Trescothick MBE. Mental Health Ambassador, Professional Cricketers' Association. For services to Mental Ill Health. (Taunton, Somerset)

Whether you agree with such recognition or not (and some is controversial) if you do nothing else read Tony Hudgell's story. The youngest ever recipient and a very brave boy. Just google his name, you'll find him.

Tony (not from Somerset by the way), pictured above left, Marcus Trescothick centre and Michael Eavis right.

Get In Touch

CurryRivelOnline is powered by our active community.

Please send us your news and views.

Village Map

© 2024 – CurryRivelOnline